SERMO’s latest Influencer Index puts audiences first

We’ve launched the fourth in our series of annual Influencer Indexes – our analysis of the top digital influencers and “ones-to-watch” across SERMO‘s 18 markets worldwide. Our Index is designed to help clients keep on top of the ever-growing influencer talent pool.

This years’ Index focuses on the audience behind each influencer by adding a new layer of analysis: audience demographic data – who each influencer actually talks to, where their followers are located and what their interests are. Tanya Hughes, president of SERMO Communications, comments “This is the new gold standard in influencer marketing, just as readership data is crucial for media title selection. Visibility on audience data allows us to have a more accurate view on influencers’ brand fit (and goes beyond vanity metrics such as large follower and engagement numbers). Analysis of this data, as you’ll see from the report, busts assumption and presents content creation and collaboration opportunities that can make campaigns work harder.”

Our 2018 Index updates the network’s global and local rankings of influencers using its proprietary 70:30 digital influence algorithm – 70% data (an influencer’s total audience reach) + 30% human judgement (a score based on SERMO agencies’ experiences of the influencers’ professionalism, creativity and peer influence). Our SERMO partners use this algorithm when designing bespoke influencer marketing campaigns for clients at both local and global levels. We’ve partnered with influencer relationship management technology provider Traackr again on the data element of the Index.

The 2018 Index includes:

• Eight global influencer marketing trends to watch out for this year – including the increasing importance of Instagram Stories for reaching under 25s, WeChat mini-programs driving sales, and the rise of male influencer

• An overall top 18 global influencers in luxury and lifestyle (SERMO’s top ranking influencer from each country) with local top 10 lists for each of SERMO’s 18 markets (with the addition of Malaysia, this year

• Two micro-influencers from each market – the up-coming or niche influencers that network agencies consider to be ‘ones-to-watch’

To download a copy of The 2018 SERMO Influencer Index, click here.

SERMO’s global top 18 luxury lifestyle influencers

Jessica Stein (@tuulavintage) – Australia
Bruno Rocha (@hugogloss) – Brazil
Ye Si (@gogoboi) – China
Carin Olsson (@parisinfourmonths) – France
Philipp Stehler (@philipp_stehler) – Germany
Sue Chang (@suechangg) – Hong Kong
Kritika Khurana (@thatbohogirl) – India
Suzanne Jackson (@sosueme_ie) – Ireland
Veronica Ferraro (@veronicaferraro) – Italy
Daphne Charice (@daphnecharice) – Malaysia
Dana Al Tuwarish (@daneeda_t) – Middle East
Ewa Chodakowska (@chodakowskaewa) – Poland
Nastya Ivleeva (@_agentgirl_) – Russia
Yoyo Cao (@yoyokulala) – Singapore
Aida Domenech (@dulceida) – Spain
Negin Mirsalehi (@negin_mirsalehi) – The Netherlands
Jim Chapman (@jimchapman) – UK
Sonya Esman (@sonyaesman) – US